Congratulations! It’s A Blueberry!

“A child is a curly, dimpled lunatic.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

It’s been a while since I posted/blogged/wrote – just about two weeks, I’d say.  And proving that my readers are either very understanding or very apathetic (or both), no one complained.  I’ve been getting a few things hammered out, and still am, but here’s me checking in.

Now, what’s with the blueberries over here on the right?  And those that are friends with my wife and me on Facebook might have noticed the blueberry in her profile picture.  Why blueberries?  ::Insert clever comment here::

The reason the wife and I seem to have developed an unhealthy obsession with blueberries is that we found this chart here.  You didn’t click on it, did you?  Damnit people, I link to these things for a reason.  Anyway, since I know you didn’t click through, what we found is a chart showing the size of a fetus by week throughout the pregnancy – but it also goes one step further than that.  It’s all well and good to say “Your baby is a half-inch big.”, but that’s still sort of an arbitrary and abstract concept – most people don’t have as good a grasp of measurements as they think they do.  So this chart equates the size of your fetus to foods that we are all familiar with.

Somehow the fact that they use all fruits keeps the chart from having a creepy Hannibal Lecter vibe.  So, we are at week 7, and week 7 is .51 inches, or a blueberry.  Got it?

In other news, I’m proud of my wife.  Not happy with her bachelor’s, which she feels is getting a little stale at this point (and she may be right, I dunno), she decided to go back to school (pre-baby decision).  So she met with her old school and figured out what needed to happen.  Just recently she had her admissions interview with the school and nailed it.  So she’s in.  We just have to get a couple financial details hammered out, but my wife will soon be going back to school for her masters.  Awesome.

In more school related news, there is a silver lining to this whole unjustly-being-fired debacle.  Finding myself again jobless, the wife and I were fishing at a job fair in a nearby town when we spied a booth for computer related education.  To recap: they were offering a paid “half work, half school” program recognized by Cisco which would end you up with a +4 degree.  I was happy to talk to her (in fact at that point, she had my complete attention), but I was reserved because I’m used to seeing opportunities like this and having to watch them zoom by due to one circumstance or another.  But the longer we talked, it became clear that there were no mitigating circumstances that would put me on the sidelines sighing wistfully – this was an opportunity I could latch on to.

When she finished listing what she was offering, it was my turn to detail what I was bringing to the table.

It says here you were in charge of the Genuine People Personalities research program at Sirius Cybernetics Corporation? How'd that turn out?

I did, and for once I was happy to see the interviewers’ eyes NOT glaze over when I started spouting my techno-voodoo mumbo-jumbo.  Instead it was quickly clear that she was as interested as I was in putting me at that school.  So we set up an interview at the school.  In preparation, I read up on various networking technologies, gathered up some samples of code I had written, and wrote a beautiful handwritten cover letter.

Turns out it wasn’t that kind of interview.  The best way to describe it would be a moron screening process.  They were, nonetheless, impressed (especially with the letter), and I passed.  My next challenge will be a test on the French language and basic networking concepts on the 31st.  On a side note: The wife came with me to the interview as an interpreter at the request of the first lady we met, should it be needed.  I only needed her to translate once (twice?) – everything else I understood and was able to communicate decently.  Go me.

So, assuming I pass those tests, 4 years from now will find the wife with a masters and me with a bachelors, and the two of us with a charming little blueberry.  Not only that, but I will be working and getting paid while I school.  Life could be worse.

That, in a nutshell, is the important stuff that has transpired since last I blogged.  Consider yourself updated.

2 thoughts on “Congratulations! It’s A Blueberry!

  1. Sounds great man! Good luck with it! I’m glad I told you to read those books. Seems you really enjoyed them. lol

Leave a Reply

