Spinning The Dog’s Head Around

A while back, I promised myself and my readers that I would post more of my art on this blog – so here’s what I’m working on right now:

I’ve always wanted to try animation.  I’ve always just been fascinated by the whole process.  So I figured I’d give it a go.  Why not?  I can do the main drawings by hand, then scan them all and do the in-betweens digitally, right?  I just need something to animate…

So I was sitting there, blank papers and pencil in hand, and all the thoughts left my head.  I couldn’t think of one damned thing I could (wanted to) animate.

Then my dog piped up.  Of course, I’ll animate a dog head!  First things first.  I need to create a character.  And look at this little guy to the right here.  Don’t you just want to adopt the little hell spawn and take him home?  Well, my wife doesn’t, but that’s because the drawing is heavily based on OUR dog, and my wife and the dog… eh, there’s hard feelings.

First, I thought I was just going to animate a bark.  So I started trying to create a dog’s head from the side.  Here are those pages:You can see at the top, they’re all based on the standard circle.  The one in the middle is a more or less acceptable dog, but I wanted something different.Three more acceptable dogs, but again, not quite what I wanted.  Then for some reason I decided I wanted to add in a head spin from the front, through 3/4 view to profile, THEN bark (then maybe back around and repeat the bark).  So I tried to draw a dog from the front.
And that’s when the adorable one was created.  “This is the one I’m going to use”, I decided.  Now I just have to draw a profile of that dog, and see if I can’t do the 3/4 digitally.  How hard can it be to match one of my own drawings, just from a different angle, right?  Turns out it’s a pain in the ass.
Each dog looks better than the last, but still none of them match the cute adorable one that I WANT to animate.  So I sit here, getting more and more frustrated, trying to figure out what makes THESE dog heads not match up with THAT dog head.  I don’t know.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

