A Very Grammatical Christmas

Christmas is coming and I have a dilemma.

Recently I arrived at work, checked my mailbox, and found a memo telling me all about this year’s Christmas party. Date, time, etc.

There were a couple of interesting bits of information however. One, this Christmas party is going to have a theme (I thought Christmas already was a theme?). The theme is the 80’s, so this should definitely be interesting.

The second interesting tidbit is that I must come up with some sort of activity to entertain AND EDUCATE the (adult) students at the party.

Somehow, my first suggestion of “pin the participle on the phrasal verb” didn’t seem to fill my colleagues with excitement, so I need to come up with something else. For example, Sandhya will be playing Simon Says with them. It should be something the students can sort of float in and out of at will.

Also, it’s already been established that there will be cocktails around and cafeteria-sized thermoses of mulled wine in the teacher’s room, so the activity shouldn’t require sobriety…

I really don’t know what I’m going to do, but I need to let the organizer know ahead of time.

Help me out here folks – any ideas on fun things I can do with my students?Being the only American in the office, some sort of activity that shows off some American culture would be a plus, but not a requirement. Please post your ideas and suggestions and help keep some French people entertained this Christmas.

2 thoughts on “A Very Grammatical Christmas

  1. We know of some games that are fun because they make people look stupid (smile); some even involve simple, repetitious language. Now, as to whether they are representative of American culture, or can be floated in and out of, I can’t say. They do not require sobriety, since participants will seem drunk, anyway.

  2. A silly game that is simple is to make up nametags with the names of well-known characters or objects and place them on people’s backs as they enter the party. They have to ask other people yes or no questions to discover who or what they are. You can keep a theme going of celebrities from the eighties, music from the eighties or just keep it to American people, like Elvis, Abraham Lincoln, Superman. The good thing about this game is that it requires people to interact, but it doesn’t require intense participation. People can come in and out of the game.

Leave a Reply

