30 Day Drawing Challenge: Yourself (100TH POST!)

(click to enlarge if it’s hard to read)

Ever since I did the post-a-day challenge back in October last year, I’ve been looking for another challenge to do. Preferably an art challenge. I didn’t find one after searching for quite a while, then this one that you see above just fell into my lap. So I’m going to do it. And, awesomely, my blogger friend Niki Nowell has agreed to do the challenge with me.

After a brief discussion, we decided on a couple simple rules:

  • The challenge would begin today, on August 7th.
  • The resultant drawings would be scanned or photographed and uploaded to our respective blogs.

Additionally, I’m setting myself the restriction that I should try, if it all possible, to avoid recycling old artwork and draw something new for each day.

Day 1 on the list is draw yourself. Strangely, of the many, many things I’ve ever drawn, I don’t believe I have ever drawn myself. So this was a first for me. And to tell the truth, I didn’t enjoy drawing this as much as I usually enjoy drawing. Still, I can recognize myself in the drawing, so I guess it’s a success.

So without further ado, here is my very first self portrait:

0.5mm mechanical pencil, scanned, contrast enhanced in GIMP

If you’d like to join in the challenge, even if you don’t have a blog, let me know. I’d love to have a bunch of people participating in this.

Also, don’t forget to jump over to Niki’s blog and check out her answer to the day 1 challenge.

And, as always, I’d love to read your comments down below.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Drawing Challenge: Yourself (100TH POST!)

Leave a Reply

