30 Day Drawing Challenge: Best Friend

Day 5 is to draw your best friend.

[warning: boring personal thoughts ahead]
This one was also difficult for me (can’t we have an easy one?). When I still lived in the USA, I had a nice large group of casual friends, and a large handful of very close friends, any one of whom I could call best friend. Then I left. And I lost contact with every single one of them.

Don’t get me wrong, they’re on Facebook and we still chat every once in a blue moon. But “We’ll keep in touch”, even between best friends, is always a lie. They’re all still close friends in my book, but the level and frequency of interaction that used to exist just isn’t there anymore.

And here in France, I quite simply have no friends, to put it quite bluntly. There are people whom I would call very friendly acquaintances that I’d love to be friends with – Nico and Jean Pierre for example. But you know the expression “Friends help you move, best friends help you move bodies”? I wouldn’t have anyone to even help me move. Except for Serge, Giselle, Patrick and Laetitia, my extended set of in-laws. But then, there’s the age gap there.

In fact, the only person (sort of) in my age group I talk to on a regular basis is fellow blogger Niki Nowell. But even as broad and close as that relationship has become, it’s still too limited to qualify as ‘besties’.

So I decided to draw someone anonymous to signify the lack of a best friend. I was discussing it with my wife (how I could represent a nonexistent person) and she reminded me of the painting “The Son Of Man” – the anonymous suit with his face hidden by a well placed granny smith. I loved the idea and decided to run with it. But none of my friends wear suits. So here you go:

To be determined… (as always: 0.5mm mech pencil, GIMPed for contrast)

Don’t forget to check out:

Also, it’s never too late to join in! Don’t forget to let us know so we can link to you.

And, as always, feedback and comments are always appreciated.

7 thoughts on “30 Day Drawing Challenge: Best Friend

  1. I’ve heard that the French are tough nuts to crack for ex-pats. That they have few close friends and that their friends are usually people they have known forever. That family is more important than friends. So, what would your inlaws say about this? Is there a way for an American to become close friends with them? Just curious. (By the way, I love your fresh interpretation of that familiar painting!)

    • Quirky, actually the fault is mine – due to my lack of familiarity with French when I came, my personality changed drastically. In America, I was fairly extroverted and was quite willing to approach and initiate conversations with strangers.

      Here, for a long time, I didn’t have the verbal skills necessary to say anything unless it was something very worth saying. As you can imagine, that precludes chatting up random strangers about the weather or the bus being late. Even now, although I have much improved my French, I tend to stay off to the side, not talking.

      So really, I think the fault is mine for retreating so far into my own thoughts since I came here.

  2. I am not close enough friends with you to say this but Niki will have to vouch for me…
    I love your drawing. The first thing I thought tho…
    “his best friend is the unibomber?”
    Then I went back and read.
    Great job.

    • You don’t have to be close to me to comment – I love getting feedback from people, even if I’ve never heard of them before. It’s one of the things that makes blogging and sharing my artwork fun.

      And thanks. It does look a little unabomberish, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

