30 Day Drawing Challenge: Favorite Book Character

Day 6 was to draw your favorite book character, with the additional restriction that it couldn’t have been made into a movie – or at least that’s how I read the challenge.

This one was a nightmare. Today was a horrible day – the baby was screaming and fussy all day, the cat was intent on doing everything she’s not allowed to do, etc. And to top it all off, all of the books where I could honestly say I have a favorite character have already been turned into movies. Although some of the movie versions were so horrible they shouldn’t count (for example: Clive Cussler’s Dirk Pitt novels, and the movie adaptation, Sahara, starring Matthew McConaughey).

Finally, I found a book (actually seven) that I did enjoy, and surprisingly had never been turned into a movie (although apparently there will be one soon). And that’s the Dark Tower series by Stephen King. And my character is The Gunslinger, a.k.a. Roland Deschain of Gilead.

“The Man in Black fled across the desert, and the Gunslinger followed.” That’s the first line of the first book. And that’s why I read it. That line grabbed me.

So even though I’d found a character, I was too tired to draw his face – so I settled on the next best thing: his gun. Actually, he has two of them, but I only drew one. In the books, they’re described as long barrelled blued-steel revolvers with sandalwood grips, chambered very close to .45 caliber, and serve to identify the Gunslinger, and people would recognize the guns as much as his face.
Technically, in the books Deschain is from an alternate reality (it’s Stephen King, after all), but I always felt pretty sure that his guns looked a lot like old Colt revolvers. Originally there was going to be a rose too, which was a recurring theme throughout the books, but I didn’t have the energy.

I’m looking forward to Day 8: Favorite Animated Character. That should be fun.

Be sure to check out these other blogs who are participating in the challenge:

Also, comments are always a good thing. There’s even a form below for that sort of thing. Try it out. It works great!

5 thoughts on “30 Day Drawing Challenge: Favorite Book Character

  1. You sure do have a great eye for detail. I would love to see the rose that you were thinking about adding. I’m glad you stuck with it despite your bad day. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks.

      For the detail though, a lot of my drawings are done from photo references. I know some artists who can achieve amazing levels of detail from memory – and I hate them (just kidding Mike!). Seriously though, I’m hardcore jealous of artists who can do that, but a lot of artists (I might even say most) like me need a photo (or real life) reference to really get the details right. Even the classic artists used models most of the time.

    • Technically, while the drawing isn’t of a human, the character Roland Deschain was. But I think it’s an excellent way to represent him, since the guns were unique and identified him much the same as my ID card would identify me, or a batarang would identify Batman, or a joker playing card would indicate the Joker.

      But now that you mention it, the Gunslinger’s guns were as much a character in the novels as was the Gunslinger himself – is it to late to retcon my post and say my character was his gun? πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

