30 Day Drawing Challenge: Favorite Word

Day 7 was to draw your favorite word.

I’m not sure I have a favorite word. I can’t think of any words where the word itself amuses me, titillates me, captivates me, impresses me… not a one. However, I could think of a few where the idea behind the word captures my interest. So instead of my favorite word, I am drawing my favorite idea, or concept.

One thing I love, to the confusion and chagrin of my wife on occasion, is absurdity (my word = absurd). Specifically, absurdist humor. You could call it ‘non sequitur’ or ‘surrealist’ humor if you want. Things that are funny because they don’t make much sense and are therefore completely unexpected.

How many surrealists does it take to screw in a lightbulb?
Fish.

A shining example of absurdist humor is, of course, Douglas Adams, author of the “The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy” series of books. So it is to those books that I went for my inspiration for today’s drawing, which is based on a short excerpt from the book, which I’ve added as a caption to the drawing.

Excerpt: “Curiously enough, the only thing that went through the mind of the bowl of petunias as it fell was ‘Oh no, not again.’ Many people have speculated that if we knew exactly why the bowl of petunias had thought that we would know a lot more about the nature of the Universe than we do now.”

Another quote I considered using from the books was “It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes”, and I also considered “I’m spending a year dead for tax reasons”. But the petunias won out.

Hope you enjoyed this one; I’m really looking forward to tomorrow’s drawing!

Be sure to check out these other blogs who are participating in the challenge:

Also, comments are always a good thing. There’s even a form below for that sort of thing. Try it out. It works great!

8 thoughts on “30 Day Drawing Challenge: Favorite Word

  1. I don’t get it. lol Absurd is a fun word too.Ah Douglas Adams. Such wonderful fodder for absurdity. Fodder. That’s a fun word too! Nice petunias.

    • Absurd IS a very fun word. And fodder too. And thanks about the petunias – I had to look up photos to see what they looked like, but I’m happy with them. 😀

    • Thanks. I felt like I needed to either have a drawing or do the word up all fancy-like – since my penmanship sucks, I went with the drawing. 😀

    • Me too. Somehow I’d actually never read his work until a friend suggested it a couple years ago, but I’m so glad I did.

  2. Hi,
    I love your petunias picture, would you mind if I use the image for a tattoo?
    Thanks
    James 😃

    • James,

      Thanks! I’m incredibly flattered that you’d want to ink yourself with one of my drawings!

      However, I STRONGLY recommend you ask a professional tattoo artist to help you design your tat. A good tattoo artist knows what will and won’t look good inked on you, and can help you find/create a design that you’ll love forever.

      If you’re still set on using this image, I’d be OK with that, but I reiterate that you should consult a pro tattoo artist. Either way, I’d love to see a pic of your tattoo when it’s done. 😀

      -Don

Leave a Reply

