30 Day Drawing Challenge: “Something You Miss”

Day 22: “Something You Miss”. This one was an easy one for me; moving to another continent gives you a lot of things to miss.

When I first read the prompt, I thought of a whole laundry list of people I miss – the Wallaces, Goldmans, Zimmerhackels, Nowells, Lovelesses, among myriad others (if I didn’t put your name, it doesn’t mean I don’t miss you).

But these are people, not things. Well, technically they’re things in the broadest sense of the term, but still… Then I realized: All of these people do have a thing in common. An organization.

Dry Bones Denver.

I am seriously bad at lettering.

I’ve previously done a write-up on Dry Bones here, but if you missed it, they’re an ‘inner city youth outreach’, which in brief means that they spend their days in the heart of the city, making connections with homeless and other at-risk youth, doing their damnedest to help those youth improve their quality of life, physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

When they met me almost a decade ago, I was a homeless, wise-ass teen with few prospects. Now I’m a wise-ass husband and father, with a good home, looking at getting into a college program to kick-start my career.

TL;DR: They’re damned good people.

You can find out more about them here.

That’s it for today. See you tomorrow, same bat-time, same bat-channel.

As always, comments are appreciated and encouraged.

And don’t forget to check out:
Niki Nowell
freebie 
GirlyGeeky
Notes From The Backseat

Leave a Reply

