New 30 Day Drawing Challenge & Day 1 Drawing

Well, I had so much fun doing the first 30 Day Drawing Challenge here on my blog with assorted friends on theirs, I figured I’d like to do another one (you can find the list here). I was a bit hesitant to commit myself to a daily activity during this busy time in my life, but there’s always a bit of down time. I may not have time to do a fantastic drawing every day, but I will have time to make some marks on some paper.

I approached several friends about doing the challenge with me, with the result that we now have around 9 participants; I’ll be linking to all of them at the end of this post – make sure to check them out. And Niki had the brilliant idea of matching the 30 challenges with the 30 days in April – funny how that matches up…

The rules are simple: Every day, for 30 days, draw with anything capable of marking (pen, pencil, marker, bloody finger, etc) on anything capable of being marked (paper, the wall, etc); digitize it somehow, and post it publicly online somewhere (preferably a blog).

So, Day 1:

Beakers_Revenge
Click through for big version

Day 1’s drawing prompt is “Muppet”. But I have a confession: I’ve never watched the Muppets. Ever.
It turns out the Oxford English Dictionary defines “Muppet” as:

A proprietary name for: any of a number of humorously grotesque glove or rod puppets and marionettes, chiefly representing animals, first popularized by the children’s television programme Sesame Street (1969-) and more recently in The Muppet Show (1976-80). Also: a toy made to resemble one of these.

So I could have drawn a Sesame Street character. But I had already drawn Beaker here. It wasn’t a fantastic drawing, so I went through and added in some cartoony shading. But, because I’m drawing with a different lead than I’m accustomed to, my shading came out very dark, and resulted in some very strong directional lighting – like there was an explosion in front and to the left of him. So I decided to go with it.

This is the result after scanning the drawing, coloring it in GIMP, and of course adding in some other details at the same time. From what I know of the Beaker character, he was always suffering at the hands of others, so this isn’t inappropriate. What do you think?

 

Our other participants:
Niki Nowell
Bill Davis
GirlyGeeky
Free2B2Much
Notes From The Backseat
Marilyn Quinsaat [posting on Facebook]
Kimmy Haines [posting on Facebook]
Karen Haines (no url provided; will update)

4 thoughts on “New 30 Day Drawing Challenge & Day 1 Drawing

  1. that is so fantastic I want a copy for my wall!!!! I will be rushing in at the last minute today but I will try to get er done!

    • Glad you like it! Can’t wait to see yours (…and everyone else’s. So far I’m the only one with a drawing up 😦 ).

  2. Fun! This is just what I need to kick start my blogging routine back into gear… momentum and all that! Supposedly doing some creative activity that’s outside your “normal” realm (there’s a normal realm for creatives?) is really good for you. Thanks, Don!

Leave a Reply

