30 Day Drawing Challenge Part II – Day 12: What I Wanted To Be When I Grew Up

shuttle_2At first, I felt like I wanted to break out some crayons and draw with my off-hand to give today’s drawing a ‘kid’ feel.

Then I decided I wanted to do a serious one, so this was sketched out from a tiny picture on my cell phone. This was originally going to have some stippled shading, but I’m a little too tired to do it right, and if you’re not doing it right, it looks bad. Just trust me on this.

So I believe this drawing speaks for itself. When I was very little, this is what I wanted to do. Sadly, I didn’t have the grades, the fortitude, and I had read that I was too tall (although now that I read the NASA requirements page, the upper cap is exactly my height…).

This drawing exemplifies one of the major flaws that plagues my artwork. Scan back through my artwork and you’ll see what I mean. They all have messy, messy lines. A lot of my artist friends, their work has beautiful, razor-sharp lines. My lines look like chewed up sticks. I feel like if I could just get those clean lines, my work would look a lot better. Guess I better keep practicing.

30-Day_Part2

Our other participants:
Niki Nowell
Bill Davis
GirlyGeeky
Free2B2Much
Niki Turner
Notes From The Backseat
Zoe Nowell
Marilyn Quinsaat [posting on Facebook]

2 thoughts on “30 Day Drawing Challenge Part II – Day 12: What I Wanted To Be When I Grew Up

  1. I prefer a sketch line every time.
    I think it was a noble and quite adventurous (not to mention extraordinarily creative) dream to want to be the space shuttle when you grew up. Sorry that height requirement popped your bubble.
    You must be really tall.

    • I would have been the best damned shuttle they’d ever seen, if only they’d given me the CHANCE!

      And yes, I’m tall. You’ve heard of 50-foot woman? She uses my socks as sleeping bags.

Leave a Reply

