Favorite Disney Character – Day 27 of 30 Day Drawing Challenge Part II

no_face2

This is No Face. Actually, this is the mask No Face always wears. He always wears a mask because, well, he’s got no face. Without his mask, he’s a barely-there amorphous black spirit.

Choosing my favorite Disney character was a difficult one; there are so many fantastic animated Disney characters (Wall-E, Stitch…), lots of great live-action flicks, not to mention some incredible stop-motion efforts like Nightmare Before Christmas and James & The Giant Peach.

I chose to stretch the definition a bit. Disney didn’t create No Face, or any of the other characters in Hayao Miyazaki’s Spirited Away (Wikipedia, IMDB), the 2001 award-winner that was the first film to gross $200 million worldwide before coming to the U.S., and the highest-grossing film in Japanese box-office history. Ever.

But Disney is responsible for bringing it to American audiences, and I’m thankful they did. Spirited Away is the tale of a young girl, Chihiro, who becomes trapped in a fantastical and beautifully illustrated spirit world, trying to save her transformed parents. No Face is more of an ancillary character – a pity-inspiring outcast, he develops a fascination with Chihiro and begins misguidedly trying to win her affections.

I picked this film, and this character in particular, because I want to strongly encourage you to watch it (assuming you haven’t) – it makes a great family film, and it’s very hard for me to imagine you being sorry you saw it.

The drawing itself is Sharpie for the blackest parts, 6B pencil for the other blacks, and watercolor for the purple highlights.

And, if you’re interested, here’s a video of Mythbusters’ Adam Savage showing off his No Face costume for Comic Con.

30-Day_Part2

Our other participants:
Niki Nowell
Bill Davis
GirlyGeeky
Free2B2Much
Niki Turner
Notes From The Backseat
Zoe Nowell
Marilyn Quinsaat [posting on Facebook]

5 thoughts on “Favorite Disney Character – Day 27 of 30 Day Drawing Challenge Part II

  1. Great one, Don. You reminded me of other Disney characters I wasn’t even thinking of (Wall-E, etc.) Because of my age, I think, when I hear “Disney character,” I tend to think only of the ones walking about Disneyland.

    • Thanks. Those were the ones that kept popping into my head the most often, but none of them really appeal to me. Especially not that damned duck.

      Did you know the character before you read the post?

  2. Ahh this is soo cool doing an art challenge like this. I just finished a drawing course to force myself to begin drawing again since I couldn’t manage on my own. Now that the class is over I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep it up. I love this character as well!

    • It is an awesome character, isn’t it?
      I’m always happy to hear about people getting into or returning to art – the world always needs more artists. C.S. Lewis said that art, rather than having survival value, gives value to survival.
      I hope to see some of your artwork on your blog. It looks like you just started. Come back and let me know if you post some art?

Leave a Reply

