Writing Challenge Day 8: Best Friend Now

 

For my best friend nowadays, there’s no contest. That’d be Niki. She and I disagree on a whole bunch of stuff, but agree on a whole lot more, and she’s a fantastic friend.

She’s one of the first (ok, the first) I turn to when I’m having a shitty day. When I’m having a great day, I can’t wait to tell her about it. She listens to me bitch, whine, moan, complain, prattle, rant, babble, and ramble…

She’s one of the very, very few who has the complete picture of what’s going on in my life right now, and what’s going on in my heart. I know I can tell her anything, and do. And that’s a 2-way street as well. We support each other, push each other, challenge each other, and advise each other. And sometimes, we just sit and listen while the other rages.

I know Niki from my time living on the streets and interacting with Dry Bones Denver. Niki and her husband, Benny (whose beard has attained a level of awesomeness I can only aspire to), were on the other side of the equation, helping out with Dry Bones. They would later go on to start their own outreach group, Sevens, in a neighboring city.

Every week, Dry Bones would rent a pool hall for a couple of hours, and all the street kids would go and shoot pool and relax. Niki says her first memory of me is me charming her into buying me a Coke at billiards night. Eventually, she would become my designated spades partner on those nights. She and I made a pretty kickass spades team, and I really miss playing, and specifically playing with her.

There’s tons more I could say about Niki, but I still have one more blog post to get up tonight before I’m finally caught up…

 

Check out our other participants here –

Niki: Sometimes I Write

Becky: Free2B2Much

Tracy: CountryRoadChronicles

4 thoughts on “Writing Challenge Day 8: Best Friend Now

Leave a Reply

