Writing Challenge Day 23 [MAKEUP]: A Favorite Actress

 

This prompt actually stopped my progress for a day or two. It’s not that I don’t have a favorite actress – I have a few, actually. It’s that aside from basic comments about their acting ability (and I do mean basic – I’m no film critic), their charm, and intelligence, I can’t think of much to say about them. They’re my favorite actresses because they can act. Well. Emma Thompson, for example, is a name that, by itself, might convince me to go see a film it’s attached to.

But for today’s challenge, I decided to go with Jodie Foster. When movies come over here to France, they’re usually dubbed. You probably know that. What you may not know is that there’s a single standard dubber for each foreign celebrity – there’s one person who typically dubs a particular celebrity – which provides a somewhat consistent experience across movies.

And you know who typically dubs Jodie Foster in French? Well, that’d be Jodie Foster herself. Not only does she speak French fluently, to the point that she can dub herself in French and even act in entirely French productions, but she understands a smattering of other languages.

I know being bilingual (or mutlilingual, depending on how your counting) is not unique to Ms. Foster. But it’s the cherry on top, if you will.

Check out our other participants here –

Niki: Sometimes I Write

Becky: Free2B2Much

Tracy: CountryRoadChronicles

Leave a Reply

