Writing Challenge Day 24 [MAKEUP]: An Author

 

Deep Thought
Some of my previous artwork – suddenly relevant

Despite being an avid reader all through my childhood, I regrettably did not discover Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy until my twenties. However, once I did, I immediately read through all the books, pausing only to eat and sleep.

I fell in love with the books in the first chapter of the first book. Douglas Adams spends much of a chapter introducing us to a character, setting up her story, then…

Has her run over and killed, followed by the line “This is not her story”. At that point, I was nearly falling out of my chair with laughter, and I knew I had to read the rest of it. So rather than blab on and on, here are some excellent Douglas Adams quotes:

In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.”

“There is an art to flying, or rather a knack. Its knack lies in learning to throw yourself at the ground and miss. … Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, that presents the difficulties.”

“The ships hung in the sky in much the same way that bricks don’t.”

Check out our other participants here –

Niki: Sometimes I Write

Becky: Free2B2Much

Tracy: CountryRoadChronicles

One thought on “Writing Challenge Day 24 [MAKEUP]: An Author

Leave a Reply

